How to check version history

How to check version history

Introduction

Version control is available for users with Administrator and Contributor roles. Leapwork supports version control of both flows and sub-flows. Every time you click save, a version number is set, and Studio will prompt you to enter a short description of the changes made to the flow.

This description will be available from the version history in Leapwork, giving you both the possibility of reviewing changes made, and to restore and preview earlier versions of the flow.

Right-click on a flow or sub-flow to get access to Version History:

The Version History pane looks like this:

When in this module, you are enabled to take any of the following actions for each version:

Preview: Preview runs of previous versions are executed on the local machine allowing full insight into the details of the automation flow.

Restore: Roll back to a previous version of the flow and promote it to the current one.

Delete: This deletes a version of a flow. All versions are available for deletion, even the current one. Use with caution!

From release 2024.2.xx onwards, users would have 2 options whilst deleting any flow:

  1. Archive.
  2. Permanent Delete.

Note - Only an administrator user will be able to restore the flow. Any user with contributor rights will only be able to preview the flow, and they can reach to their Admin user and inform which version of the respective flow is required to be restored.

Previewing previous versions

By selecting the Preview option in the Version History pane, the previous version in question is opened in preview mode.

Restoring previous versions

When restoring, it is important to understand how Leapwork performs the restore. Leapwork lets you choose between three different restoring approaches:

Only Flow: This option only restores the flow's design in terms of intended steps and actions. However, Locators used in the building blocks are the most recent ones. This means, that if you made an update to a building block, e.g. captured a new element, it is the new element that continues to be used in the restored version.

Full Restore: This option not only restores the flow’s design to its previous version, it also re-applies previously captured Locators of that same version. If the application automated has changed since the creation date of the flow version being restored, this may cause the flow to fail. This is a good example of relevant information to put into the 'Save information' prompt; changes done within specific building blocks.

Full Copy: This will restore the flow’s design and make a copy of all used Locators.

Deleting previous flows

The Delete option in the Version History pane will delete the corresponding version data and remove it from version history.

From release 2024.2.xx onwards, the delete option would work as follows:

  1. Archive the selected version of flow/sub-flow: It works as soft delete. It removes the version from viewing in the Studio, but the version and its related information is available in the database.

In the audit logs of Leapwork, the above action could be seen as -

  1. Permanently delete the selected version of flow/sub-flow: It works as permanent delete. It removes the version both from the Studio and the database permanently. And there is no undoing/going-back once this action is committed. User would be prompted twice to register the confirmation for this option.

a. First confirmation.

b. Second confirmation.

In the audit logs of Leapwork, the above action could be seen as -

Note - In the audit log snapshots shown above, the text appearing within square brackets ( [ ] ), denotes the comments entered by the user while saving the flow in earlier stages.

For any clarification, please contact our Priority Support.